MaddAddam (MaddAddam, #3)

394 pages

English language

Published Jan. 8, 2013

Copied ISBN!

View on Inventaire

4 stars (4 reviews)

MaddAddam is a novel by Canadian writer Margaret Atwood, published on 29 August 2013. MaddAddam concludes the dystopian trilogy that began with Oryx and Crake (2003) and continued with The Year of the Flood (2009). While the plots of these previous novels ran along a parallel timeline, MaddAddam is the continuation of both books. MaddAddam is written from the perspective of Zeb and Toby, who were both introduced in The Year of the Flood.

4 editions

Review of 'MaddAddam (MaddAddam, #3)' on 'Goodreads'

3 stars

I really enjoyed Oryx & Crake (the first book in this series), found 'Year of the Flood' hard going, and thought this third instalment of the trilogy somewhat frustrating. And I write as a big Atwood fan.

The world she conjures is interesting, but she does not really build on the basic the story that she outlined in Oryx and Crake. The book reads as sort of annex to the first novel, as if it is comprised of her extra notes and ephemera. Perhaps it was.

That said, the book is very funny in parts, and I am not quite sure why. Parts of it read like a comedy monologue in the style of Joyce Grenfell ("George, don't do that'" becomes "Please don't sing now"). Which is why I still enjoyed reading the book, but I just wish she had developed the ideas further. We assume the humans get wiped …

avatar for JesseLiberty

rated it

4 stars
avatar for ShelfMonkey

rated it

4 stars
avatar for pikesley

rated it

5 stars